Book Cake

thisisit2.jpg

I’ve spent the entire morning making this template for a chocolate plate for the cake my boss ordered for his wife’s book release party tomorrow. I am soooo not a day person though, so being artistic while the sun is shining hasn’t been easy. Granted, it’s been a lot of tracing, but I feel like even that was a stretch for me. I took a quick break to go buy some chocolate and some fresh air – and was very tempted to just stay out, but I am now back in the house and thinking a glass of iced coffee and a magazine are calling my name. PROCRASTINATION!

I was good last night and baked three layers of cake, and also made hazelnut buttercream and chocolate ganache. So all cake parts are made, but not assembled. At least something productive got done.

I’ve come to the digusting realization that I charged FAR too little for this cake. I know it will probably be a great portfolio piece, and I’ll like it when it’s done, but right now, after spending an entire day prepping to actually make this intensively detailed chocolate plate, I want to punch myself in the head.

Usually I make one of these cakes for a Thursday or Friday delivery, so I have the weekend in sight to recover from a sleepless, stress-filled night of decorating. Wednesday delivery means I still have half the week to go at work. Bah.

I’m hoping I feel better once Jay gets home and makes something yummy for dinner. I can’t even turn on a heating element at the moment – because I just KNOW that I will want to start cooking savory food, which is exactly what I should NOT be doing when I have an cake order for tomorrow that needs to get finished.

I wonder if cake artists would be good tattoo artists. Doing all that tracing made me feel kind of like the tattoo artists I see on TV when they are prepping stencils for clients.

Ok … off to grab some melted chocolate and some brushes and hope it all works out well. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

