Safari Birthday Cake

Yes, I’m playing blog catch-up.  In a few more months, I won’t have the desk job as an excuse anymore, so hopefully I’ll be able to post much more frequently!

Here’s the latest Sweet Element cake that was made for a very sweet boy named Trevor for his first birthday.  The cake was a banana cake filled with alternating layers of vanilla and chocolate buttercream and frosted in chocolate buttercream and then rolled fondant.

I was given free reign over the design, with the caveat that it had to be something safari-themed, so I thought having a few animals peeking out of a gift box would be a cute idea.  At the last minute, I thought it would be a nice added touch to have the gift box zebra striped.

This was the first time I have made gumpaste “tissue”, and I was fairly happy with how it all turned out.

Safari 1st Birthday Cake

While I think all the animals are cute, the giraffe was my favorite.  Here’s a detail shot.

Sugar Giraffe Detail

And last but not least, a shot of the birthday boy with his cake!

Birthday Boy w/ Safari Cake

Leave a Reply

