18th GLBT Expo & Rainbow Weddings Weekend!


What a weekend!  Since my post last Wednesday, Sweet Element has been *VERY* busy with the production of a little over 6,000 mini cupcake samples for our biggest show yet, The Rainbow Weddings show, within the 18th GLBT Expo at the Javits Center in New York City this past weekend.

I definitely owe a HUMONGOUS thanks to Jay for all his help from Friday-Sunday.  I don’t know how I would have gotten through it all without him! Next year I will definitely be hiring another assistant to help with all the production & handling the booth traffic.

Here was our show menu of some of our most popular cake flavors:

Banana Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting
Almond Cake with Almond Moussaline Buttercream
Red Velvet Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting
Coconut Cake with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting
Pistachio Cake with Pistachio Moussaline Buttercream
Vegan Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Ganache Frosting

Amazingly, *ALL* of our cupcake samples were gone at the end of the show!

Here’s a shot of our booth (lucky #13!) in the Rainbow Weddings section of the Expo.  Yes, those are ALL mini cupcake boxes (just for Saturday), double stacked on those bottom two shelves.  Shockingly, this was the ONLY picture I was able to take during the two day show, right before the show opened on Saturday, because our booth was SO busy both days that we never got a break to even sit down!

Even though it was completely exhausting, and I have *NEVER* done as many lunges and squats to get boxes of cupcakes from the rack to refill the samples on the table, I cannot wait for next year already!  It was SO much fun meeting so many wonderful people – potential clients, other GBLT friendly businesss people & fellow exhibitors.

If you are like me and believe in marriage equality for all, please visit this site & join the petition!

3 responses to “18th GLBT Expo & Rainbow Weddings Weekend!

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year! | SweetElement

  2. Hi Jen, Met you at the LGBT Expo and you are amazing. Just am surprised that how did I not know about Sweet Element living in Bloomfield for the past 10 years. Shame on me 🙂 And I have seen “the amazing guy” on the train which I take to NYC everyday. Good to put a history to a familiar face. Sweet Element will be highly recommended to everyone of my acquaintances.

    • Aw, thanks so much! It’s always a pleasure getting to know neighbors! There will be an open house for artists in my building this spring and I hope to participate this year. I’ll be posting about it here and on Facebook as it gets closer!

Leave a Reply

