Congratulations Will & Kate!

Like many of my fellow wedding pros, I was up at 4 AM this morning to join in the revelry (even if only via television!) of the royal wedding.  It was truly a sight to behold all the attendees in their finest & so fun to see such fantastic millinery!  Many people have said that watching this wedding was like watching a fairy tale, and I have to say that I agree.  Kate was a stunning princess in a gorgeous, traditional gown by Sarah Burton of Alexander McQueen & William was quite the handsome prince in uniform.

Of course, I could not wait to see the wedding cake … and it didn’t disappoint! Fiona Cairns & her team did a beautiful job.  All that intricate piping … wowza.  I love the all chocolate groom’s cake from McVities Cake Company requested by Prince William for the reception at Buckingham Palace.  If I had a choice … I would definitely go for a slice of that chocolate cake over a slice of the wedding fruit cake – wouldn’t you?!

I am definitely looking forward to seeing the wedding trends that this royal wedding has set in motion.  Something tells me a lot of requests for lace & piping on more traditional monochromatic cakes will be coming up!

Personally, I hope that many of the “best dressed” fashions seen on wedding guests will also be making their way to cake trends … definitely some gorgeous color combinations & fascinators!

Leave a comment