Post-Sandy

Photo courtesy of Julian Ribinik Photography

It’s been quite a while since I checked in here on the ‘ol Sweet Element blog. Life got busy this summer & fall, and while there were plenty of cakes made (future catch up posts to come!), there were many non-cake related events that had me busy in and out of the kitchen, leaving little time to put together updates beyond a quick tweet or Facebook post.

Life however, has an interesting way of slowing things down & making us re-evaluate and re-prioritize things sometimes, and that’s exactly what happened as a result of Hurricane Sandy, which caused my studio to lose power and left me with plenty of downtime to think about what’s next for both me & Sweet Element. The studio is still out of power, but unlike many of our neighbors, Mr. Sweet Element & I were super lucky to have never lost power at home. So, since I’ve been ousted from kitchen work for the past week, I’ve been playing serious catch up with the business side of my business, which includes a lot of time spent in front of a computer.

Here’s a few photos of what we found when we checked out the studio after the storm.

Downed Transformer Pole Behind the Studio

Giant uprooted tree on power lines behind the studio.

No power = not a good temperature reading for a refrigerator = goodbye perishables.

Damaged house across the street from the studio.

As a small business owner, I am well aware at how events like hurricanes and other can truly break a business, especially those in food service, where margins are tight to begin with. My heart truly goes out to my fellow entrepreneurs & their clients, as well as the thousands of others who were adversely affected by Sandy. Fortunately, unlike many other small businesses in the area, my space didn’t get damaged. Unfortunately, I did have to cancel a few orders and tastings that were booked last week, as my studio was cold & dark. So while I took a hit in the perishable items in my fridge and a few smaller orders, I could not be more grateful that this storm hit when it did, because a month earlier and the loss of business for me would have been devastating, as September is one of my busiest month of the year (*the* busiest this year), especially with weddings.

My fingers are crossed that power is restored to my studio soon, as I have been receiving inquiries for last minute orders that I would love to take, especially for weddings that have been affected by the storm. In the interim however, I decided to go and check in on NYC and support some of my favorite small, independent downtown eateries and businesses yesterday, and I urge everyone else to do the same. It was eerie to see the streets a lot quieter than normal and a lot of shuttered shops.

I’d like to close by thanking many industry friends, former clients, and many friends and family members who were quick to check in on both me & Sweet Element in the aftermath of the storm. As soon as we’re back up & powered, I’ll be sharing our holiday schedule of events, which I hope to see many of you at!

Stay strong my fellow NJ & NYC friends!

Leave a Reply

